Book Review

by Maya Redden

0

The Darkest Minds

The Darkest Minds is a thrilling young adult fiction book written by Alexandra Bracken. It follows the life of ruby living in the future where a plague has killed almost every kid from ages 10-20 and giving the survivors strange powers. When ruby wakes up on her tenth birthday she finds that she is not the same and ends up being taken away from her family to live in a rehabilitation camp where she and the kids are treated like slaves with guns pointed at their heads for every living second. Now sixteen, Ruby has been living at the rehabilitation camp for some time and she knows she’s different from all the other kids in the camp.  When she escapes with help from the children’s league she finds Liam, Charles, and Zu. Three kids who also managed to escape from their imprisonment.  All four kids set out on a mission to find the East River, a camp of kids who managed to get out of reach of the government.   Throughout the book ruby finds secrets that both impress and terrify her.

The Darkest Minds is a great book for fans of Divergent or The Hunger Games.  It takes you on a roller coaster of emotions. You will fall in love with the story and the characters as they go on their journey to find the east river.

Tags:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 
Back to Top ↑